Dah Shimaruku Shake, another Island Note

dsc05367

Bonaire has had abundant and welcomed rains in the past two months.  One of the benefits of the deluge are a profusion of shimarukus, our native cherries.  Thanks to  friends Laura & George who have a number of cherry trees, I got to pick my share.

dsc05368

I decided to make a smoothie, which involved getting three pits that are in each cherry separated from the good stuff.  Most of what ended up in the blender was juice and skins.  The smell is heavenly delicate and distinctive.dsc05369

Then I added fresh ground cinnamon that I bought in Grenada last month, a banana from Panama, yogurt and almond milk.

dsc05370

Before you know it, I was doing dah Shimaruku Shake.dsc05374

Leave a Reply

